On the evening of the third Thursday each month something marvelous is happening.  Ashley Mitchell, founder of Blessings in a Basket and Big Tough Girl holds a Big Tough Girl support group for those of us who have placed.  I feel I'm at a loss for words to describe how wonderful of a feeling it is to talk with multiple other girls in similar situations as me.  After placement most Birth Parents feel alone, like we are the only ones who EVER placed their child for adoption - when that clearly just isn't the case.  Ashley has networked with girls from across the county "grafting lives together through our Birth Mom community."  It doesn't matter if you placed 3 weeks ago, or 30 years ago we all need to be remembered and have some support. 

This is from the Big Tough Girl website:

"What is BTG Support Group?
BTG Support groups are designed for birth moms to find healing and motivation, peace and support, and lasting friendships with birthmoms in their area and so much more...come in person once a month at a location near you or check in with us online.

Group is NOT just a place to talk about being a birth mom. If that is what you are going through and that is what you need...then I promise we will talk about it! But if you need to talk about something else...ANYTHING else...school, relationships, sex, health and image, friends, kids, money...we are going to talk about it.
Our support groups are FREE and just for you."

At this moment there are locations in Colorado, Nebraska and Utah - If you don't live close to any of these places (like me) you can join in on Skype.  Get your butt on over to the Big Tough Girl blog and read all about it.

I got to attend group this past week and can I just say that you ladies are so...well - Tough! ;)  Glad to be apart of the BTG community and can't wait to see what the future holds.

One of my favorite things I heard Ashley say was to, "Put him in a black hole and LEAVE him there!" I literally laughed out loud when I heard her say this.  How many times do we decide someone is bad news for us and then keep taking them out of that "black hole"?  Which inspired this......
Ashley has more up her sleeve than just this BTG support group.  She also runs Blessings in a Basket.  More about that later.  Visit her in the meantime here:
www.BigToughGirl.blogspot.com 
www.BlessingsInABasket.org




If you are currently adopting and would like your profile featured, please contact me.  I'd love to have you join!



Leave a Reply.